Revisiting Kyles Ford Elementary

On a cold January morning in 2008 I had somehow ended up in Blackwater Virginia.  I was attempting to figure out the way from Jonesville to Rogersville on Highway 70.   For anyone reading this that enjoys a scenic drive this is a great drive.  There are so many hidden gems along this highway.  One of the gems I discovered on that day in 2008 was the old Kyles Ford Elementary.  This is the building where my fascination with old abandoned buildings, especially school buildings was born.    So, I guess I owe a whole lot to this little school.

I wanted to come back and revisit the building, so since we had a snow day today and there wasn’t any work I loaded up in the Jeep this morning and drove across highway 70 from Jonesville to Kyles Ford.   It was just as scenic and interesting this time as it was in 2008.  This is absolutely some of the most stunning scenery in southwest Virginia and Northeast Tennessee to be found.

When I got to the school this morning I noticed that the front door was opened.  There was no one around, so i walked in and got some great shots of this school.  Before I share the pictures I want to give a bit of a back story on the school.  The school was opened in 1938.  The gym and cafeteria were later added in 1965-1966.  The school was closed at the end of the 2000-2001 school year once the new Hancock County Elementary School was completed.

kylesford7

kylesford6

kylesford5 DSCN0466 DSCN0467 DSCN0468 DSCN0475 DSCN0476 DSCN0478 DSCN0481 DSCN0482 kylesford1

Its a real shame that buildings like this one are going to waste.   The hardwood floors in that main hallway in the old building would be absolutely gorgeous refinished.  I wish our schools today were built with the character that these buildings were.

Leave a Reply

