The Blackwater Community of Lee County, Virginia

There is a semi interesting story as to why I ever went to Blackwater in the first place.   Back in 2008 when I was working at Walmart in Jonesville I worked in lawn and garden so I was outside for a big part of my day.  One day I was outside and a fully blacked out  GMC Denali pulled up and the passenger window rolls down,  this lady with a very obvious french infulenced american accent proceeds to ask me for directions to Blackwater.  At this time I was new to Lee County, I had no idea where it was.  So I had to get a co-worker to come over and give her directions.  When the Denali left I saw that it had Quebec Canadian license plates on the back.  For some reason, this peaked my interest in Blackwater.  So one day on my day off I drove across highway 70 to Blackwater.

The road to Blackwater is very curvy and mountainous, but it is also very scenic and relaxing at the same time.  Blackwater is definitely off the beaten path, and it isn’t anything spectacular, but it is just a nice place to drive when you want to collect your thoughts and think.

DSCN0440

This first picture is from highway 70 looking back toward Jonesville as you are crossing over into Blackwater.

DSCN0451 DSCN0449 DSCN0447

This is the old Blackwater High School.  It is located on the AJ Osborne Highway about a mile off of Highway 70.  The school ceased functioning as a high school in 1972.  I can’t find out for sure, but I think the building was used after that as an elementary school.  The school is obviously well maintained and secure, unlike many other old schools you find in Appalachia.

DSCN0445

Looking toward Blackwater High School on AJ Osborne Highway.

DSCN0454 DSCN0458Farming is a way of life here.DSCN0459

DSCN0455

DSCN0456

DSCN0442

The Blackwater, Virginia post office is located in this building.

DSCN0457

The intersection of AJ Osborne Highway and Highway 70.  Turn left you go to Tennessee, first stop Kyles Ford, more on that stop tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “The Blackwater Community of Lee County, Virginia”

Leave a Reply

