Underwater Bridge Pier @ Martin’s Fork Lake

lake2

I have a weird fascination with this lake and the way the community was that sat here before its construction.  Today I traced the road leading up to where the old elementary school is to the end of the water as far as I could as it sinks into the lake.  Much to my surprise I was able to clearly make out what appears to be a bridge pier underneath the water.

lake1

You can clearly make out the natural lay of the land while the water is this low.  You can also see where the road originally crossed the river.  I wish that I could find some good photos of this area before the lake was built.  My parents have told me countless times things like “and this is where Creed Smith’s store was”  or, “this is where Creed Smith lived”  or “….and Mrs Ball lived right over there”.  I have a mental image in my head of the area, but I would still love to see it.

lake3

So many times we take things that are all around us for granted.  No better example of me doing this, is Martins Fork Lake.  On a nice clear day, the water is as blue as can be and the sand is white as snow.

DSCN0776

Leave a Reply

