Because of Winn-Dixie

Lately, well for the past year or so I have a fascination with retail history.  Where companies chose to build, why do they build there, why do they leave, when did they leave?  Several years ago I stumbled upon a blog online called Sky City.  What Sky City pretty much is, is a guy going around to dead or dying malls, in many cases, and photo documenting their existence while trying to piece together it’s past.  Which leads me to Eden, North Carolina.  For a long time now I have wanted to visit Eden Mall.  So, yesterday my friend Sunny and I visited Eden, including Eden Mall.  I’ll have photos of that visit later tonight.

One of the treasures we happened upon in Eden is this dandy Winn Dixie building.

edenwinndixie3

Now as you can tell from the above picture this building is definitely vintage and has been vaccant for quite some time.  According to sources the building was opened in 1968 and closed in 2005 during a massive round of closures for Winn Dixie which lead to them completely pulling out of many areas of the country including Atlanta, Georgia, the entire state of North Carolina and  Huntsville Alabama.

edenwinndixie2

This shopping center, which is in very rough shape, also houses a Dollar General and a couple of other local shops.  The center was sold last year, so my theory is, this center will probably be bulldozed into history and another metal Dollar General store will be constructed in its place.

edenwinndixie

I guess its pretty safe to say that this is the last remaining Winn Dixie sign on a building in the Tar Heel state

1 thought on “Because of Winn-Dixie”

  1. My first Winn Dixie to ever see in person was the summer in Birmingham, AL. Having been an avid student of children’s literature in college I was delighted to no end…I perhaps should pay a visit inside next time I’m in town before this relic is gone forever. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

