Are legal alcohol sales crucial to economic and social development?

jesse r. jones

Two weeks ago, I was in a parking lot in Corbin, Ky talking to a rather successful local business owner. He owns a chain of restaurants located mainly in Southeastern Ky with the exception of a few in Northern Ky. He was telling me how he was looking for a new location for his newest restaurant. Being a resident of Barbourville, Ky, and following my first instinct, I said “Barbourville would be a great place, we have a very small selection when it comes to food.. when it comes to anything, for that matter”. He cut me off. Saying, “Oh, no way. Barbourville is a disaster for small businesses. The economy is HORRIBLE”, he stressed. “I had a restaurant there before, and it was a nightmare. Please don’t remind me”, he said.

I wasn’t too surprised. I’ve done the research before. Barbourville is the WORST place to try and make a…

View original post 1,092 more words

1 thought on “Are legal alcohol sales crucial to economic and social development?”

Leave a Reply

