Beaverdam School — Haywood County, North Carolina

BeaverDamMap

When I started planning my trip to Charlotte and Greensboro a few weeks ago, naturally I started searching for abandoned or closed school buildings.  I was successful in finding a few.  My favorite of them all has to be the old Beaverdam School located in Canton, North Carolina.

BeaverDam4

The building was built in the early 1930s during the WPA era.

BeaverDam5

I found a couple of sources that list the closing date as 1985, but that cant be confirmed for sure.  Judging by the condition of the building I would say that is a good estimate though.

BeaverDam7

BeaverDam2

BeaverDam6

BeaverDamBeaverDam3

It appears that the school probably recieved a substantial addition in probably the 1950s along the west side of the building.

As always, if any of my readers have any information or stories about the Beaverdam School in Canton, North Carolina, feel free to message me or comment!

Leave a Reply

