Curtis Mathes Sign — Martinsville, Virginia

Several weeks ago a friend of mine and I took a drive over to the Martinsville, Virginia area.  It was a new experience for me.  Even though I had been all around Martinsville before, I had never actually been to Martinsville proper.

One of the most striking vintage relics we came across was this Curtis Mathes sign hanging on the side of a building, where it has obviously resided for many years.
Martinsville, VA
Now, Im about to show my age here, but I can remember when my parents first got a VCR and they would go to and take me to Curtis Mathes in downtown Harlan to rent video tapes.  In those does, Kentucky 38 went straight through downtown along Clover Street and there were buildings and the river right around where it runs today.  In one of those buildings was Curtis Mathes.  I always thought Curtis Mathes was the fancy place in town to rent video tapes because they came in those big brown and orange cases.  Kids are so weird sometimes.

Leave a Reply

