Cairo, Illinois (2012)

Cairo, Illinois (2012)
Back in March of 2012 I took a meandering road trip crossing back and forth across the Ohio River between Kentucky, Indiana, Illinois and eventually Missouri.  When I started this road trip just north of Louisville, I knew my ultimate endpoint was Cairo, Illinois, the southern most town in Illinois.
Cairo, Illinois (2012) At this time the only significance I knew of about Cairo was that it was the confluence of the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers.  I had no idea the deep history I would uncover when I actually visited the town. Cairo, Illinois (2012)
Once I got to the town of Cairo I was floored with the amount of urban decay, and I say that in a very loving way. I hadnt been that impressed since I stumbled upon the coal towns of southern West Virginia.
Cairo, Illinois (2012)
Cairo was founded in 1858. The peak population of Cairo occured in 1920 at nearly 16,000 people. The 2015 estimate is fewer than 2,500.
Cairo, Illinois (2012) Cairo, Illinois (2012)
According to updates on google earth many of the buildings in my photos are now demolished. In the very near future I am returning to Cairo complete with updated pictures and definitely more documentation than I had from the trip in 2012. Be on the lookout for the update in the next week or so!
Cairo, Illinois (2012)

Leave a Reply

