The old Charles A. Cannon, Jr. Memorial Hospital is located just outside downtown Banner Elk, North Carolina. The hospital was built in 1962 and replaced Grace Hospital III, which was opened in 1932.
The building has been sitting vacant since 1999 when the hospital merged with a neighboring hospital in nearby Linville.
The pictures including in this article thus far were all taken on July 31, 2017. The following pictures were taken in the fall of 2012. As you can see, the building has definitely had a rough five years.
Hara Arena was a 5,500-seat multi-purpose arena located in the Dayton, Ohio suburb of Trotwood. The facility began as a ballroom in 1956, added an arena in 1964 and eventually grew to a six-building complex. Over the course of its 60 year history Hara has been home to many sports teams including the Dayton Jets basketball team and Dayton Gems (1964–1977, 1979–1980 and 2009–2012), Dayton Blue Hawks, Dayton Owls, Dayton Bombers, Dayton Ice Bandits, Dayton Demonz, and Dayton Demolition ice hockey teams and the Marshals indoor football team.
The original plans did not include an ice rink, but were changed to accommodate the Dayton Gems who were looking for a home arena. By the end of its life in 2016, the complex spanned 165,000 square feet which includes the main arena, four exhibition halls, a conference center, a pub and a golf course.
On July 29, 2016, it was announced that the facility would close after hosting a final event August 27, 2016 due to ongoing financial issues and a 20-year long legal fight over the unresolved estate of founder Harold Wampler. At the time of the closure announcement, the facility was said to have a $36 million annual impact to the area. The closure forced events, like the annual Dayton Hamvention, to search for an alternative venue. It also forced the Dayton Demolition ice hockey team to cease operations after only one season.
Salem Mall was the first enclosed shopping mall in the Dayton Ohio area, opening in 1966. The mall originally was home to 60 stores and was anchored by Rike’s and Sears. In the early 1980s the mall was reworked and now had a capacity for over 100 stores. By the mid 90s the mall was considered a dead mall A death knell came to the mall in 1998 when both Lazarus and JC Penney pulled out of the mall. With changing demographis and a general eastward flight of new development in the Dayton area, Salem Mall eventually, battered and beaten closed its doors and on May 6, 2006 demolition on the mall began. Only the Sears building would remain standing.
In October 2013 it was announced that Sears would close its Trotwood location. That building has been standing vacant since.
In November of 1937 construction began on a new gymnasium for the Seymour Indiana high school then known as Sheilds High School. The new gym was completed as a WPA project in 1938 and provided the high school and community with a modern, fire-proof gymnasium with a seating capacity of over 3,300.
The gymnasium continued to serve Shields High School until 1959, when the high school moved to a new campus and changed its name to Seymour High School. Upon the moving of Sheilds High School, the gym, and main school building which use to stand directly beside the gym were transformed into the new Sheilds Middle School.
The buildings remained in service to the community in this function until 1981 when the new Seymour Middle School opened. The main part of the Sheilds High School was demolished in 1998.
The gymnasium remains standing on 6th Street to this very day.
Reed Consolidated School was located just off US 60 on Reed Bluff City Road between Henderson and Owensboro. //embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
There is basically no information about the history of the school. However I have found that all 9-12 graders in Henderson County began attending the new Henderson County High School in 1955. This building likely served as a K-8 school for many years after that. //embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
As you can tell, the sun was not cooperating at all with me when there.
The Gem Theatre opened its doors in 1910, and seated 685.
A fire in 1934 completely gutted the theatre, and it was rebuilt two years later in Art Deco style, including a new, elegant marquee. The Gem Theatre continued to operate for nearly another half century, before it was closed in 1978. On January 26, 1979 the Cairo Historic District, including the Gem Theater was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Sadly, many of the buildings included in that district have fallen to the wrecking ball in the last 5-10 years.
As you can see from the pictures above, the last 5 years has not been particularly kind to the Gem Theatre. As buildings surrounding it have fallen to the wrecking ball, a giant tree now grows out of the side, bursting through the brick wall of the Gem.
The Booker T Washington School is located on Second Street and until 1922 was named the Jackson Street School.
Following integration of local public schools, Booker T. Washington housed classes for several programs, including middle school students, Head Start and adult literacy. The building has been vacant for about 15 years.
In early 2010 a fire damaged an entire wing of the school and in March of that year that secion of the school was demolished.