Cubbage Elementary School — Bell County, Kentucky

cubbagemap

Cubbage Elementary School is located near the intersection of Kentucky state routes 987 and 219 in the community of Miracle in Bell County, Kentucky.

10403402_10152398044641492_4372809803857096245_n

I can’t pinpoint exactly when this school opened, but judging by the construction and styling cues I would estimate it as being an early 50s construction and maybe receiving some minor updates in the 1970s or 1980s.

Cubbage1

Back in the 1999-2000 school year the Bell County Board of Education, faced with an aging fleet of elementary schools and budget issues voted to consolidate several of the elementary schools.  Included in that list was Cubbage Elementary which was the south-eastern most school geographically speaking.

Cubbage2

At the time, in the 1999-2000 school year Cubbage had saw its enrollment drop below 100 students to 89 and school board members couldnt see any feasible way in keeping the aging facility open.

Cubbage5

The school is a basic rectangle footprint of what appears to be 7 or 8 classrooms on one side, and offices and a cafeteria on the other side.

There was also a mobile unit behind the school, which still remains there today, 15 years after the school closed.

Cubbage3

I have to give credit to the graffiti artists at Cubbage, this is probably my favorite piece of graffiti that I have ran across in an abandoned building.

Cubbage4

This was one of the classrooms on the front side of the building.

Cubbage6

The lunchroom was still largely intact…including the folding into the wall tables.

Cubbage7

I got to asking around about this building in the last year or so and I was surprised to learn that one of my dads cousins now owns the building.  I hope to go back soon and do a full updated shoot for a blog entry on this site.  Seeing as how its been 7 years since my initial visit, it will be interesting to see the changes in the building.

Cubbage8

I have a lot of family who lives in the communities that fed to this school.  If any of you were to read this, or anyone else who has information about this school that I have missed, please comment, message or email me.

3 thoughts on “Cubbage Elementary School — Bell County, Kentucky”

  1. I went to school here in the 90’s… My younger brother and his friends were responsible for most of the graffiti.To be fair they were between 10 and 15 when they did so. The mobile unit was used for Pre-K/kindergarten as well as the school store. We had Cubbage bucks, red dollars with indians printed on them, as that was our mascot.

Leave a comment