Pageton Grade School — McDowell County, West Virginia

pageton10

Pageton Grade School is located in the unincorporated community of Pageton, West Virginia in southeastern McDowell County.  Pageton is located about 15 miles southeast of Welch on WV State route 161 about 7 miles from Gary.

pageton3

Pageton is a former company centered town once powered by Page Coal & Coke Company.  The old company store still remains standing and has a place on the National Register of Historic Places.

pageton6

Pageton Grade school appears to have closed in the late 1980s or early 1990s.  I assume students from Pageton were moved to nearby Anawalt or possibly Gary, seeing as how at the time when this school closed, schools at Gary were still in session.

Pageton5

As you can see the interior of the school has been let go very badly and like many other schools in this area has fallen into a state of decay.

pageton4


Pageton8

As you can see, the word PAGETON is spelled out on the front entrance in the same font that is used at several other schools that were built in the 1920s and 1930s in McDowell County.   I assume this school was built in that same era.  It is probably most similar to the school at nearby Jolo which will be covered in my next entry in ths blog.

Pageton7


Pageton9

8 thoughts on “Pageton Grade School — McDowell County, West Virginia”

  1. Pageton was used as a VFW Hall and a headstart center for many years after it was closed as a school. The students that had went there were transferred to Anawalt. It was used as a grade school for many years and the students continued junior high school at Anawalt, also.

      1. I’ve asked my dad, as he went to school there, but he doesn’t remember. I’ll keep asking around, I’m sure someone knows. I live in Pageton (have the majority of my life) and remember going to the school for birthday parties, baby showers, etc. We LOVED the park. Our county commission is working on fixing it back up for the kids in the area.

      2. I have no ties to McDowell Countyn at all, but I am fascinated by it. I live in an area in Kentucky called Harlan that has a lot of the same characteristics that McDowell County has. There is so much history that needs to be preserved and learned about.

Leave a comment